A word on the Design….

This week our designed Tyler Wied discusses his process and inspiration behind  the design of “The KAN”

 

“Kyle contacted me in early October of 2015 to discuss the idea he had for what eventually
became the KAN. I was in Toronto at the time and on my way to Central America for an
extended surf vacation. The opportunity to get involved in this project -along with the pull
of the Pacific North West- made me cancel my travel plans and fly back to YVR.

While studying towards my Architectural Tech. Diploma, I was heavily influenced by the
work of Samuel Mockbee, and specifically, the Rural Studio and his 20k house project. From this concept, I designed the moc pod in honor of Mr. Mockbee, but applied for the working poor of Calgary -where I was living at the time. The concept for what became the KAN was entirely in line with what I had championed during my education, and I was excited to apply my skills to something I was passionate about.
My early conceptual designs made use of several shipping containers at first. However, as
the finer-points of Kyle’s intention to make this a financially accessible and extremely
compact unit were revealed, the size was continually reduced to the single story unit you
see advertised on our website.
I have often answered in conversation that my love for design is focused on -what I have
come to call- microtecture. The puzzle-like challenge of doing more with less is far more
interesting to me than working with an unlimited budget. I volunteered one year with the
now defunct Architecture for Humanity who’s mission could be simply summarized as doingmore with less. Their two publications Design Like you Give a Damn 1 & 2 were both the catalyst to my studies, and subsequently, the guidebook for how best to apply my skills. The KAN is the first opportunity in my career as a designer to do just that.”

Tyler Wied

2 thoughts on “A word on the Design….

  1. I’ve been following various information sources for what is still considered “alternate” housing possibilities down here in the U.S.A. Floating villages have been at the top of my research but a land-based eco-village would face some of the same questions. These questions seem unanswered in many descriptions, I think, because the founders are young, healthy, come with a supportive family group or partner, etc. So here’s my weird (but serious) list, in part:

    1. In a semi-remote location, what does an eco-based village do with the disabled, elderly, dying, and yes, even the dead? Body disposal? (We have some laws down here that prevent simple in-ground burials in places or leaving the deceased in remote places to let nature take its course.)
    2. All vegetarian would take care of this, but if not, are there facilities/locations for slaughter? Disposal of animal waste products?
    3. Medical needs seen to?
    4. What is done with the things that are not able to be recycled on site?
    5. Because of climate change, we’re facing an explosion of disease-carrying insects and the rise of West Nile virus, Zika virus, Chaga disease, dengue fever, Lyme disease, with predictions for malaria in the coming years. Are you dealing with this in Canada? Any use of insect-repelling landscape plants or building materials? (cedar siding, mulch…)

    Sorry. That got quite long! Just pick one concept for response, if you like! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

